Can I change My Virtual Private Server (VPS)/Virtual Dedicated Server (VDS) plan?

Can I Change My VPS/VDS Plan?

It is possible to change an existing VPS/VDS plan but the processes for upgrading and downgrading your plan are different. 


Below you'll find how to change your VPS/VDS plan depending on what type of change you would like to make.


Can I upgrade my VPS/VDS plan?

Yes, you can upgrade your subcrtiptions via the Customer Panel, there are two ways to handle a VPS/VDS upgrade depending on whether you want to keep the data on your server or not. 


Below is a description of both methods:


Fresh setup (Installation):
The fresh setup (installation) method deletes all data on your current instance and creates a new instance with a new IP address in a region of your choice.


This method is free of charge.


Live Migration:
With the live migration method, we will migrate your server, including all server data, to the region of your choice.

Your server will remain online during the data transfer. The duration of a migration depends on the amount of data to be transferred and some other technical conditions, so it is not possible to give an exact estimate for this process.

Once the data transfer is completed, the server must be restarted and reconfigured. During this downtime, Contabo will reconfigure the main IP address of the server. This process will cause a period of downtime, it is not possible to give an exact timeframe for how long the downtime will be.


There is a service charge for this method which will be shown to you when you upgrade your VPS in the Customer Control Panel.


How do I upgrade my VPS plan?

The Upgrade option is currently being restored in the new Customer Control Panel. In the meantime, you can still use it in the old Customer Control Panel, which you can open from the new interface. To do so, click “Old Customer Panel” under the “Contact Us” menu, go to your services section, and click “Upgrade Now”.

Alternatively, you can place an upgrade request using this link: https://dedicatedserver.contabo.com/abos#


Can I downgrade my VPS/VDS plan?

If you want to downgrade your plan then you’ll need to buy the smaller plan through the Customer Control Panel. Once you downgrade, it is recommended to transfer all the data from your current VPS/VDS to the new downgraded one, and then mark the old VPS/VDS for cancellation. 


You can order a new VPS/VDS by clicking Create and selecting the VPS/VDS at the top of the Customer Panel.



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Can't find what you're looking for?